A voicehearer’s path ~

Suffering ~

I believe God is real. That being said, I believe God can only communicate with us so far as we can “see” or are willing to accept. That is why Slavery was condoned in the Old Testament, why Rape was not really an issue, why child molestation was not even on the radar. I do not blame God for human stupidity, but I do not plan to go back to laws that are deaf, dumb and blind to human suffering.

This is why I see the Buddha’s Eightfold Path of Enlightenment as a higher path than those laws. Buddha’s desire was to end human suffering, and the wisdom he gained at the Bhodi tree reflects that. The third, fourth and fifth parts of that path speak of right action, right thought, and right livelihood. Within the context of those principles lies advice to always seek consent from the other person when interactions are about to begin. Receiving consent, or the ability to give it on the part of the other person being the underlying basis for whether an action is right or wrong.

I am well aware that Buddha did not teach these things as obedience to an all seeing God. He taught them as a way for true happiness to prevail. He asked in his contemplations for clarity, my personal belief is that the Spirit of Wisdom, as represented by the Bhodi Tree, and who is the Holy Spirit in many cosmologies, gave him a clarity that is unrivaled in any other path. I also believe that this may have been the reason for Y’shua’s teaching about the unforgivable sin. It is possible to blaspheme God, and even his prophets and still be forgiven, you could not, however, call evil good, or good evil, and expect forgiveness.

The Path of Buddha is a clear path to treating others with compassion, a primary requisite to obeying God. It is through a prophet that he spoke the words ” I desire compassion rather than sacrifice.” This path teaches us how to do that. I believe that we should follow the clearest light we have available. Y’shua put it as simply as any teacher has in all of time, “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” Buddha expanded on that with the Eightfold Path. We have a clear light, I will follow it, I hope you will join me.

Comments on: "Suffering ~" (1)

  1. That is very attention-grabbing, You are an excessively professional blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and stay up for seeking more of your excellent post. Additionally, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

