A voicehearer’s path ~

Truth ~

Ethical axioms are found and tested not very differently from the axioms of science. Truth is what stands the test of experience. Albert Einstein

One of the things that bothered me immensely when I participated in the church was the oft repeated phrase that the “truth” needed to be defended. I am not a scientist, but did train as a nurse, so was quite familiar with the concept that a truism, or axiom, that earned it’s place in the base of knowledge by which we operated in our work had to prove itself in the results we gained in using it. Put more simply, a truth will surface in the using of it. This is so contrary to the idea that the truth needed defended that I had to choose a different way of seeing spirituality or give up being a nurse.

Now, keep in mind that I hear voices, and knew other folks did not, but I had also seen what I would call “snippets” of things that often were warnings of things to come. I had also found, through the years, that I would just simply “know” things about others that were not known to the general public, things neither they nor anyone else had verbalized in my presence. I had lost more than one friendship because of that, and it had been a tough lesson to realize that just because I had these insights into others, it wasn’t mine to comment on them to the person or those around them. That being the case, it wasn’t difficult to convince me that the people who ran the churches I attended didn’t quite serve the basic no nonsense truth. It also wasn’t necessary to convince me that Spirit existed; I didn’t have to accept that on “faith” alone.

This “difference” that I have lived with through all of my years of remembrance has left me questioning nearly everything around me: from my faith to my sanity, to the veracity of nearly everything that anyone has ever put before me without empirical evidence. I have been called a “doubting Thomas” when poking at the things people would tell me that they had seen or done, as well as being told I ask too many questions. I have gotten so used to that that when someone starts dithering with comments of that nature, my antennae immediately start to buzz. I have found that the people who don’t like questions are usually deceiving at some level or another.

Basically, that is the reason I began to explore other faiths and perceptions of God. When someone tells me that I must simply accept what they have to say on faith, they are dismissed as flim flam artists in my book. Now, that probably isn’t fair. I am sure there are many who truly believe that Spirit is a concept to be accepted on faith rather than a phenomenon to be experienced. That’s fine, but it doesn’t work for me.I am not saying that if you have accepted God’s existence on the word of another that you need to doubt that existence, for I have no doubt at all that God is and God rewards all who seek to know that.

I am, however, asking you to understand that, as long as your faith teaches compassion as a cornerstone of your religious life, you are on a path that will reveal God to you. This does not mean that there are not other things to learn, for the realm of God is full of things to learn, all along the path; it simply requires that you understand that the moment anyone, anywhere begins to tell you that you don’t need to be compassionate to your fellow travelers, no matter their circumstances, they are leading you down a dangerous path, and away from God.

The point of all of this is to ensure that you are aware that you may test everything anyone says to you, always. You are responsible for your path, no one else is, if someone tells you to “kill the neighbor”, they are most likely not speaking for God. If that’s a voice in your head, tell it to go away, it doesn’t come from God. If a man or woman purporting to be “of God” tells you to destroy another or their property, that isn’t from God. You can only serve God from a perspective of choosing compassion first. You must learn to walk your truth, doing so from a perspective of humility and compassion ensures that you reach your goal with as little damage to you or others as possible. Y’shua said it best, “You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

