A voicehearer’s path ~

Hawk Medicine ~

redframedI love the red-tailed hawk. I drew this one for a precious friend back in Indiana, I put a blue sky behind it, and then wished I had not, as I like it better plain. Have you ever taken note of how many different hawks live in our world? There are red-tails, red-shouldered, another of my faves the Cooper’s, the Sparrowhawk,  the goshawk, grey hawks, and many more! Their “medicine” among Native Americans is that of bringing messages from the Holy Spirit. (Wakan, holy, Tanka, spirit). The Eagle carries our prayers to Spirit. Isn’t that a beautiful thought? I have never had to search if I wanted to see a hawk, there have always been hawks around where ever I would look, since I was a small child. I figure it’s because I don’t listen as well as I should.

Have you ever watched a hawk on the wing? They wheel, and turn, and glide sometimes just for the pure joy of flight, many times watching the ground or air below them for game to eat or feed to their little ones. There is a sense of guardianship about them, and I have never felt alone.

Hawks piercing shriek tears through the air. In its shrill cry lies red_tailed_hawk_perched_shaan important message which represents illumination. Hawk teaches us to scope out the situation and focus on our talents, trying to draw them out. Hawk learns to see the big picture in order to understand the past, present, and future. Hawk asks us to be observant of surroundings so we won’t get distracted from our path by others. It also reminds us not to get caught up in minor annoyances so we can maintain our inner balance. from http://animaltotems.com/hawk.html

It is the medicine of hawk that allows us as individuals to rise above our circumstances and live a better life by learning to see a larger picture; not to be caught up in the little distractions and negatives that we allow to bring us down. Hawk tends to be a warning totem, letting those it works with know when NOT to move into a situation as it will bring harm to them and/or others. It is hawk medicine that lets us walk in the worlds of the mundane and the spiritual at the same time, losing nothing in the experience.

dancingwthwheelOne of the things to remember about the totems. Each of them will work with anyone sincerely wishing to work on a specific area of one’s life. One needs only ask for their help. If you wish to learn how to properly work with totems, and I have mentioned this Holy Man before, Sun Bear’s books are excellent for beginners, easily read and full of information. I have been learning from my totems for several years now, and still keep his books for reference. They are unbeatable. The thing that brought me to work with Native Spirituality, though I am not a Wichasha Wahini, and must refer you to the Original People if you wish to learn is their respect for individual spiritual growth and path work. You are not herded when you work with one of the Holy people, you are worked with through your medicines.

P.S.

I am blond and blue-eyed, and though my father was a mixed blood still looking, as one of my teachers said, like a full blood, I look like my Swedish mother for the most part. I don’t try to make like a native, leaving the dances, pow-wows, and gatherings to those with more native blood than I. One does not need to pretend to be an Indian to live a life respectful to Spirit, one needs to learn to walk with a light step and respect all spiritual paths that lead to the Holy Spirit. Since Y’shua said it was by the fruit of their lives that you would know who did that, I am certain that those whose teachings I have followed are Spirit’s own. I have never learned to respect denominations, I doubt if I shall ever manage that foolishness.

Comments on: "Hawk Medicine ~" (2)

  1. [...] whitish, which means he is a fledgling.  Hawks gestation is 28 days and they fledge at 45 days.  Hawk medicine has to do with being patient and observing.   I spent some time at the firepit yesterday, [...]

  2. Thank you for posting this blog! I have just discovered that Hawk is one of my medicines and have been studying up to learn what I can in this world while also communicating with Hawk in the spirit. -Thank you, Vara

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 168 other followers

