A voicehearer’s path ~

Holy Writ ~

hh-tenzin-gyatsoI have read the Christian Bible more than 4 times through, and have read the New Testament so many times I have lost count. I have copies of the Tanakh, the Bhagavad-Gita, the Quran, and books written by HH Tenzin Gyatso, the current Dalai Lama. I respect the writers as men whose dedication to holy living was born out in their lives. I tend to give weight to the words written by the level of holiness that was evident in the lives they lived. Erego, I place greatest weight on the words of his Holiness, the Dalai Lama, as a living example of compassion in action.

Even here, though he is reckoned the 14th incarnation of Avalokitesvara, the Buddha of Compassion, I do not consider him infallible. He comes far closer to infallibility than do I, who am a simple woman of faith residing in the US. He is not God incarnate, nor does he claim to be. He is a human being, enlightened, to be sure, but a human being. What he shows is that Holy Writ, good as it is for guidance and instruction, is written by men who may be inspired by the Holy Presence, but they are still men and their words must be weighed in that light.

The books I have that he has written are in English, and this is my point regarding Holy Writ from any source, I must presume upon the good intent of the translators of his work. This is easier to do when the writer is living, and has loyal helpers who will let him know if a mistranslation has skewed his meaning on any teaching. When the writer is long since passed on, there is no such safety line.

Y’shua cannot stand up in an assembly and say, “That is not what I said or 1_robetaught.” At least not with any legitimate verity, as even one who would say they represent him is representing their vision of Him. I do not trust the machinations of humans who have done little in their lives to sort their “impressions” from objective truth. Constantine has been called a saint by many, but I do not trust the “vision” of a conqueror who chooses to use the teachings of a peaceful rabbi to enhance his position as a head of state, consolidating his kingdom by making Christianity the state religion.

Many of Y’shua’s teachings resemble the Buddha’s, enough so that I question the veracity of those statements that seem to claim Godhood beyond the Godhood of all sentient beings, and because of the way Aramaic is written, and the way Y’shua could easily have spoken of the Ruach Ha-Kodesh, I believe his words have been skewed.

I believe Moshe’s words are pretty much intact, as they were in the keeping of his kinsmen for generations after his passing. I believe Buddha’s teachings are intact also, because there was no great upheaval where his words were removed from the hands of his students and “sorted” by some great “council” of men seeking to justify the position of a monarch.

zoo_2_bg_072603The best any one person can ask of any version of Holy Writ is that it be consistent to the principles of truth and compassion. Any time that consistency is lacking, I will question the source of the teaching. By the way, the Buddha gave that as one of the criteria for knowing whether your teacher was representing the teachings truthfully, his words were to obey the teaching, not the earth bound teacher. I wish that had been passed down from Y’shua, for I am certain that somewhere and at some time he said that, though, of course, if his teachings have been so completely tampered with as I believe, why should I believe those words were not simply deleted?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

