A voicehearer’s path ~

Butterfly prayers ~

The Native American “medicine” of the butterfly is transformation. I heard one of the more famous teachers from among the Lakota once comment that Y’shua’s “medicine” was the butterfly. I treasure that medicine, it is my own, from birth, actually, and when the teacher made this comment, I will admit to having been quite thrilled. It is the medicine of transformation, from a leaf crawler to a flyer. The transformation is so deep the leaf crawler must go into a deep sleep in order for it to occur.

This, then, as a prayer, is not some wimpy or sentimental prayer of butterfly kisses, but a deep and changing prayer that goes to the very heart of a matter. It is my prayer for all of us regarding our attitude where the Earth is concerned. I have never been particularly worried about Mother Earth surviving the little parasite known as humans, she will brush us off her skin when she grows tired of our bungling clumsiness.

I would like, however, for us to survive; to learn to honor her, so that she has no need to send us flying into space with no oxygen to survive. If this is to happen, however, we must decide that our survival as a species is more important than our individual desires. That’s asking a lot of us, we’re not known to be altruistic for long periods of time. Many of us can manage that a few minutes here and there, but, most are not made of the same cloth as Mother Theresa.

Many generations ago, that “survival” command was basically to go forth and multiply. We did! Oh boy, did we! We have pretty much crowded up the place at this point and are ruining the very old growth forests that keep the species alive. So, how do we do this? ZPG (zero population growth) is not a new concept. It’s been around for quite a while, yet there is recently an upsurge again in people having large families. Why?

Nature’s answer among the wild ones is to foster same gender teams instead of mixed gender teams for working and living. Yet, among humans, such same gender teaming up is a controversy. What once fostered the very atmosphere in which our species was to thrive, i.e. have babies, is the very thing that will kill us if we do not control our urges. And I am certain that the Fundamentalist Christian answer would be celibacy if they thought curtailing the population was necessary, but they are the source of the recent upsurge in large families. EEEK!

Hm, it would seem that FC’s (fundamentalist Christians) are setting up the stage for the very persecution they have been fearing for decades, as they decide that the rest of the world is wrong and they are the only folks who are right. FC’s have been known to bomb abortion clinics, and even protest milder forms of population control such as “the pill”. It is often the FC’s who demonstrate and instigate the anti-gay movements that make same gender relationships among humans a dangerous way to live.

They claim the example of Sodom and Gomorrah as their reason for rejecting gays, but no gay I know is violent or invasive just because they are gay. In fact, it is the gay bashers that are the violent ones. What’s up with that? Y’shua taught peace and love, turning the other cheek, etc, yet, that is most definitely not the brand of Christianity practiced in America today. It is for this reason that I pray my Butterfly Prayers. We need change at every level of being.  You are welcome to join me in those prayers, may The Ancient of Days bless your every word.

Comments on: "Butterfly prayers ~" (2)

  1. You seem to imply there is something wrong if a babykilling abortion mill is burned or bomb. Which do you prefer, a pile of bricks or a pile of dead babies? Innocent unborn babies deserve to be protected just as born children deserve to be protected. You would have no problem protecting born children if they were about to be murdered.
    SAY THIS PRAYER: Dear Jesus, I am a sinner and am headed to eternal hell because of my sins. I believe you died on the cross to take away my sins and to take me to heaven. Jesus, I ask you now to come into my heart and take away my sins and give me eternal life.

  2. I wasn’t implying. I meant that there is something wrong when such an institution is bombed or burned. I have been an LPN since 1976, and I do indeed prefer that if abortion is used to terminate a pregnancy, that it happen before the baby “quickens” in the early part of the 2nd trimester, as I believe that is when the baby is actually more than just a shell. I am quite aware that abortions can, in some states happen even in the 8th month, and that is terminating the life of a viable baby.

    I prefer that mothers use the pill, and am quite glad that the “morning after” pill is now available here for those who made a mistake of timing. I would prefer that women in their child bearing years use their heads and not the other end to do their thinking for them, and practice prevention rather than an OMG, what have I done panic.

    Now, as to how to answer you on the question of my salvation prayers. If you had read my blog you would know that I love Y’shua as rabboni, but that I do not believe him to be God incarnate. I follow the path of Y’shua and wish that most Christians did the same.

    How are you doing in the realm of loving and forgiving? You are aware, are you not, that you must forgive to be forgiven? (Matt.6:9-13), and that we are given but one commandment, and that is to love one another as he loved us? (John13:34) You do know that Y’shua also said that if you love from the depths of your soul you will fulfill all 613 Mitzvot?

    Are you aware of the 7 laws of Noach?
    1. Prohibition of Idolatry: You shall not have any idols before God.
    2. Prohibition of Murder: You shall not murder. (Genesis 9:6)
    3. Prohibition of Theft: You shall not steal.
    4. Prohibition of Sexual Promiscuity: You shall not commit adultery.
    5. Prohibition of Blasphemy: You shall not blaspheme God’s name.
    6. Dietary Law: Do not eat flesh taken from an animal while it is still alive. (Genesis 9:4)
    7. Requirement to have just Laws: You shall set up an effective judiciary to enforce the preceding six laws fairly.

    These are the laws that are pertinent to all Gentiles, not the 10, nor the Mitzvot, so our lives are much simpler than for the Ivrit. Note the prohibition against murder? That means the Dr.s and nurses in all clinics, even abortion clinics.

    I cannot tell you how to live your life, I can only comment on how I live mine. And I will pray a butterfly prayer for you, Rev, so that, if you do truly have a personal relationship with Y’shua, you will learn to love.
    Su

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

