A voicehearer’s path ~

DNA, God’s signature?

Yes, I do believe that the sacred spiral within each of our cells is God’s signature. I am in awe that the one who created us so completely cared about each and every cell in our bodies and that it is his signature that keeps us reproducing in the manner he chose. In fact, it is when that signature has been messed with, either by our own carelessness, or environment or disease, that things go wrong within the human body.

I must admit to being whacked enough to feel that if they ever did a DNA test on me, I would want the schematic framed and on the wall as art. Yeah, I know, woman’s crazy. And I am also crazy enough to feel that any other creature that carries the DNA signature, or plant for that matter, is somehow “related” to me. It’s a Native America perspective that so fit with what I already felt that it became my own perspective as well. In fact, it was in learning the NA perspective that I learned that the Spiral that occurs in nature has been sacred to them for generations. There is so much about the NA perspective that I find utterly sensible, if we went back in time and were forced to live without things like computers (heaven forfend!) or even rudimentary things like radios, I would probably choose to live in that lifestyle, simply because there is among the more peaceful tribes a sense of balance and beauty that I have found nowhere else.

One of the things I find heartbreaking and painful is the insistence that these folks were the savages and Europeans were the civilized. MM-HM, the NA’s minded their own business, it was the Europeans who were taking property and space that wasn’t theirs to take. It’s done now, and I am grateful that the NA’s have forgiven us as fully as most of them have. They would not share their spiritual knowledge with us, if they had not made at least a general peace with our presence here. I have been given the honor of smoking a prayer pipe with a pipe-carrier of the Lakota people, more than once. The “tobacco” was a type of willow bark. The experience was like no other. One is extremely aware of the presence of Spirit.

I apologize for the digression, back to DNA; I brought up the subject to make the point that, though I respect the desire to find answers to some of the hardest questions in medicine, I most heartily wish that the researchers had more of a sense of the sacredness of the work they are doing. If I knew that they had that awareness, I would probably not worry so much about the outcome of cloning animals when we are only beginning to understand the map of the genome.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

