A voicehearer’s path ~

How it is with me ~

I am not here to tell you that my path will work for you, or that it will work for every voicehearer. I am simply here to share what has worked for me. There are, among my friends, those who would lovingly tell me that I should not share my world at all with those who do not know me. Most of the time, you would not know that I do indeed hear voices. I have, for the most part, learned to cope with the differences in perception that the voices create.

There are reasons, however, that make it such that I feel that this may be exactly the best way to “give back” for all the help I have received in my life. It is, in essence, paying it forward, so that if someone else who is a voice hearer and lives under the same onus should find this, it may help them. We have lived for generations with the fears that accompany this phenomenon, and it is time to stop running.

There are many others, and I have seen on the internet signs that there are groups forming that help voicehearers affirm their lives in meaningful ways. The sad part is that, once upon a time, voicehearers were thought to be hearing the “gods” and were therefore spokespeople for the divine. Mouthpieces, so to speak. That, I would have to say was a false presumption and probably led to complete idiocy or the hanging or drowning of many a voicehearer for heeding the wrong voice.

I do know a couple of other folks who hear voices, and they will be invited to give input into this blog as I continue to post. And, yes, by implication of my last paragraph I have found that there are voices that I hear that have led me to make loving and good improvements in my life, and there are other voices that would have led me down some dark and dangerous roads, and indeed did for a time, until I realized I was going a direction I did not want to go.

Now I will tell you that there are many of us who cannot hang onto the present, the here and now, and for that problem I do not have any recommendations. Personally, I have considered wearing a Jabra phone accessory like you see here, so that, should I accidentally feel I needed to answer one of the voices and someone was around, they would think I was talking to someone on the “phone”. It would work. You find yourself wondering about the folks that go around talking animatedly to one of those things, anyway.

All kidding aside, the path I walk has been a spiritual path, and I am not sure I had a choice, though there are those who would argue that point. I did a lot of exploring to find the right “religion” and found that none really seemed to have all the answers, even though many claimed they did, or that they had the answers we needed and the rest should be taken on faith. I wasn’t willing to do that, so there are those faiths that will insist that I am possessed, and should not be listened to at all.

I will respect that you may think that way, as long as you respect my right to be who I am and not live my life your way. Since I do not live be a formulaic faith, my world is not so cut and dried. I am quite thankful that many of the churches of today are beginning to deal with those of us out here that do not fit the “norm’.

If you look around this blog, you will see a page posted on Neil Douglas-Klotz’ translation of the beatitudes. He is a Sufi mystic, yet his translation makes a great deal more sense to me that the King James version of that same passage, so I post it here. Look him up, he has a web presence that will tell you much more about him. It is in exploring work like his, and teachings by the Buddha that I have found a peaceful way to live my life. That is what I will discuss on this blog. You are welcome to look in from time to time, I have a circle of friends back in Indiana that I hope will look in often. Thank you,

Suzi

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

